Casing Error in Next.js Development

There are multiple modules with names that only differ in casing.

ยท

2 min read

During development, Next.js can throw the following warning.

I invested an insane amount of time attempting to resolve this error. Here are the various measures I took:

  • I checked if all the file names match the folder names.

  • I made sure that all imports are correctly spelled and formatted.

  • Although the error message contained an identifier, I struggled to comprehend its significance as I am still new to interpreting such identifiers.

Since it was just a warning, I figured I could overlook it and proceed with deploying the code on Vercel. However, this decision turned out to be a huge mistake as Vercel rejected the deployment during the build phase due to the same error. This issue needs to be addressed immediately!

Dealing with this error can be quite overwhelming. I personally struggled with it and had to seek my colleague's help for quick pair debugging. We ended up spending a considerable amount of time trying to fix it. Eventually, after reading through the documentation, we identified the root cause of the error and had a good laugh.

The solution to this problem involved using the appropriate "casing" while importing.

In my function component, I imported Link as below

import Link from "next/Link";

But, the right way is

import Link from "next/link";

I'm excited to hear about your experience! If you find this information helpful, please don't hesitate to like, share, and comment. I'm eager to learn about how others tackle this error.

Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘ Happy Debugging

ย