Inspecting GraphQL Schema

Inspecting GraphQL Schema

Tools to inspect GraphQL schema

ยท

1 min read

When you are at the task of API integration, you need tools that set you up for a good start. I am exploring the kontent.ai GraphQL library.

I forked the collection in Postman and was about to start to write GraphQL queries.Just to realize that I do not know the schema to query.

via GIPHY

In Thunder Client-VSCode Extension we do not have functionality to auto fetch the graphql schema as of yet.

In Postman, I stared at "Schema fetched" for some time. xzx.png After googling on "how to access already fetched schema in Postman" - I figured it's a feature request in Postman backlog.

So, how to solve this ? Well, there are two ways to solve it:

  • Hard way: Introspection System i.e. query the schema to know the schema graphql_q.png

  • Easy way: GraphiQL. Enter the URL and the online editor is configured for you Screen Shot 2022-09-15 at 5.39.15 PM.png

See the schema, create queries, and you are all set for API exploration ๐ŸŒŸ. Sometimes, it's good to trust the documentation of a tool over your skills to figure things out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I hope you find this insightful.

If you liked this article, please like it and follow me on #Hashnode to stay updated.

ย