Setup macbook to work for you

Developer's productivity hack

ยท

2 min read

Today I read an interesting article on Hashnode - How I automated my macbook to help me get ready for work

I am no Mac pro ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿ’ป but yes I was definitely inspired to get my hands dirty after reading Lorenze's article. Who do not want to automate and make life a little easy.

I have been doing automation but thinking about automating my own work was like -

via GIPHY

Writing Applescript was straight forward

Open Finder >> Applications >>Utilities >>Script Editor Screen Shot 2022-09-18 at 3.58.36 PM.png

Server Daemon don't scare me as much as my own development machine's LaunchDaemon can. I wasn't ready for too much thrill hence I figured an easy way to configure my StartYourDay script.

  1. Compile your applescript as application : Open your script in ScriptEditor >> File Menu >> Export then configure as below

Screen Shot 2022-09-18 at 4.06.18 PM.png

  1. ๏ฃฟ->System Preferences->Users & Groups->[Login Items] --> click [+] to select your script Application --> lock the changes

  2. Logout

Login and Voila! I am all set for my development environment ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€

Tip - If you will try to configure script as login item, It will open the script editors and other folders. It feels like everything is taking too much time. Overall experience of start up is slow. To solve that, I saved the script as Application and then configure it as login item for logged in user. It really helped me.

Hope you find this insightful!

If you liked this article, please like it and follow me on #Hashnode to stay updated.

ย